05 October, 2021
15 May, 2022
2 Rondae Hollis-jefferson (BESIK)
Tough Calls
to read

Tough Calls - Gameday 8

MIES (Switzerland) - Each week, experts are analysing the games. In order to improve the understanding of referees' decisions and increase the transparency towards our fans, we publish some of those "tough calls", together with an explanation.

Please find below this week's "tough calls":

Tough Call 1: Pinar Karsiyaka v Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem - Foul in the act of shooting

Red 11 jumps to attempt a 3-point field goal. After releasing the ball, the referee calls a foul in the act of shooting to White 3.

Article 33.1         The cylinder principle is defined as the space within an imaginary cylinder occupied by a player on the floor.

Article 33.2         As soon as the player leaves his vertical position (cylinder) and body contact occurs with an opponent who had already established his own vertical position (cylinder), the player who left his vertical position (cylinder) is responsible for the contact.

Outcome: Correct decision from the referees. Defender White 3 invaded the shooter’s cylinder, creating a contact on his knee. The 3-point basket is valid and Red 11 is awarded 1 free throw.


Tough Call 2: Galatasaray Nef v PAOK mateco - Foul in the act of shooting 

White 1 jumps to attempt a 3-point field goal. The ball doesn’t enter the basket and the game continues.

Article 33.6         A player who has jumped into the air from a place on the playing court has the right to land again at the same place.

Outcome: Incorrect decision from the referees. Defender Black 16 occupied the landing spot of an airborne shooter, creating a contact on the shooter’s left foot. A personal foul should have been called to Black 16 and White 1 should have been awarded 3 free throws.


Tough Call 3: Pinar Karsiyaka v Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem Foul not in the act of shooting 

Red 32 drives to the basket when the referee calls a personal foul on White 21 and considers that the act of shooting has already started. Therefore, the referee awards two free throws to Red 32.

Article 15.1.3     The act of shooting in a continuous movement on drives to the basket or other moving shots begins when the ball has come to rest in the player’s hand(s) upon completion of a dribble or a catch in the air and the player starts, in the judgement of the referee, the shooting motion preceding the release of the ball for a field goal.

Outcome: Incorrect decision from the referees. When the illegal contact occurred, the ball had not come to rest in the player’s hands yet. Red 32 still bounced the ball once more and then grabbed it. The act of shooting had not started yet. The Red team should have been awarded a throw-in from the place nearest to where the foul occurred.


Tough Call 4: Lenovo Tenerife v MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg - TV

Yellow 19 receives the ball in the restricted area with his back to the basket and then he starts to dribble to square up. The referee calls a personal foul to Black 21 and awards 2 free throws to Yellow 19.

Article 25.2.1     If both feet are off the floor and the player lands with both feet simultaneously, the moment one foot is lifted the other foot becomes the pivot foot.

To start a dribble the pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Outcome: Incorrect decision from the referees. Yellow 19 received the ball having both feet in the air and landed with both feet simultaneously. Then he moved his right foot, so his left foot became his pivot foot. To start the dribble, he lifted his left foot before releasing the ball. This is a travelling violation.


Tough Call 5: Filou Oostende v Tofas Bursa - TV

Blue 2 is progressing when he receives the ball and starts a dribble. The referee calls a travelling violation.

Article 25.2.1     A player who catches the ball while he is progressing shall release the ball to start his dribble before his second step.

The first step occurs when one foot or both feet touch the floor after gaining control of the ball.

The second step occurs after the first step when the other foot touches the floor or both feet touch the floor simultaneously.

Outcome: Correct decision from the referees. When Blue 2 caught the ball, he had his right foot on the floor (the so-called gather step or step 0). His first step occurred when, after having caught the ball, his left foot touched the floor. His second step occurred when his right foot touched the floor. He released the ball after his second step, not before. This is a travelling violation.