05 October, 2021
15 May, 2022


Innovative joint partnership

An independent and separate legal entity based in Switzerland has been established in March 2016. An innovative 50-50 joint partnership between FIBA and 11 top European leagues:

Basketball’s new horizon in Europe

  • Fair competition based on sporting principles: teams qualifying through national leagues
  • A truly European club competition with 30 countries
  • Innovative partnership

The Basketball Champions League

  • Nurturing new European talents
  • Protecting the domestic leagues
  • Promoting sporting results and openness of competitions
  • Providing a sound business model for all stakeholders, not only elite clubs
  • Bringing coherence, transparency and unity to European club competitions
  • Protecting the integrity of the game: all clubs shall be treated equally
  • Advancing common interests through a partnership 50% Leagues - 50% FIBA

Check the Competition Format

Board of Directors
  • Markus Studer, Chairman
  • Alain Béral (FRA)
  • Maurizio Bertea (ITA)
  • Arthur Goethals (BEL)
  • Stefan Holz (GER)
  • Antonio Martin (ESP)
  • Kamil Novak (FIBA Europe)
  • Kevin Tsujihara (FIBA Club Co)

Brian Bailey (FIBA Club Co)
Chus Bueno (NBA)
Tomas Van Den Spiegel (ULEB)

Chief Executive Officer
  • Patrick Comninos

Two committees composed of representatives of Leagues and FIBA:
Competitions Committee
  • Matej Erjavec, Chairman
  • Turgay Cataluk, member
  • Djilali Meziane, member
  • Kamil Novak, delegate of the Board
  • Francesco Ricco, member
  • Joan Roca, member
  • Edgar Sneps, member
  • Jens Staudenmayer, member
  • Wim Van de Keere, member
  • Tomas Van Den Spiegel, member
  • Asterios Zois, Ex-Officio

Finance Committee
  • Stefan Holz, Chairman and delegate of the Board
  • Patrick Mariller, member
  • Marek Palus, member
  • Karl Thaller, member
    Ingo Weiss, member

BCL Club Council (season 2021-22)

Alain Béral, Chairman and delegate of the Board
AEK (Greece), member
Dinamo Sassari (Italy), member
ERA Nymburk (Czech Republic), member
Filou Oostende (Belgium), member
Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (Israel), member
Lenovo Tenerife (Spain), member
MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg (Germany), member
Nizhny Novgorod (Russia), member
Pinar Karsiyaka (Turkey), member
Rytas Vilnius (Lithuania), member
SIG Strasbourg (France), member

Single Judge
  • Olivier Ducrey