05 October, 2021
15 May, 2022
Tough Calls
to read

Tough Calls - Gameday 1

MIES (Switzerland) - Each week, experts are analysing the games. In order to improve the understanding of referees' decisions and to increase the transparency towards our fans, we publish some of those "tough calls", together with an explanation.

Please find below last week's "tough calls":

Tough Call 1: Prometey vs Lenovo Tenerife - UF

White 0 receives a pass while airborne. Black 35 moves backwards and creates an illegal contact invading the cylinder of the airborne player. The referees call a foul in the act of shooting to Black 35, the basket is valid and White 0 is awarded 1 free throw.

Article 33.6: “Moving under a player who is in the air and causing contact is usually an unsportsmanlike foul and in certain circumstances may be a disqualifying foul”

Article 37: “An unsportsmanlike foul is a player contact foul which, in the judgement of a referee is:

  • Contact with an opponent and not legitimately attempting to directly play the ball within the spirit and intent of the rules. 

Outcome: Incorrect decision from the referees. An unsportsmanlike foul should have been called to Black 35. The basket is valid, White 0 should have been awarded 1 free throw and the game should have been resumed with a White Team throw-in from the throw-in line in their front court and 14 seconds on the shot clock.


Tough Call 2: Hereda San Pablo Burgos vs Besiktas Icrypex - Travelling

The White team steal the ball and start a fastbreak. White 23 receives a pass and makes a lay-up. There is no call from the referees, who award the basket.

Article 25.2.1: “A player who catches the ball while he is progressing, or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.

The first step occurs when one foot or both feet touch the floor AFTER gaining control of the ball.

The second step occurs after the first step when the other foot touches the floor or both feet touch the floor simultaneously. 

Outcome: Correct decision from the referees. White 23 gained the control of the ball WITH his right foot on the floor (“step 0 or gather step”), so the first step occurred when his left foot touched the floor. The second step occurred when his right foot touched the floor. Then he jumped and released the ball before any feet touched the floor again. Legal play, valid basket.


Tough Call 3: Falco Szombathely vs AEK - Illegal use of arms

Yellow 7 is dribbling the ball while Yellow 17 tries to set a screen for his teammate Yellow 11. Yellow 11 is being guarded by Black 11. When Black 11 passes the screener, he raises his left arm and pushes off the opponent’s arm.

Article 33.15: “Holding is illegal personal contact with an opponent that interferes with his freedom of movement. This contact can occur with any part of the body.” 

Outcome: Correct decision from the referees. The contact created by Yellow 11 is illegal and a team control foul was correctly called.


Tough Call 4: EWE Baskets Oldenburg vs Rytas Vilnius - Travelling

Yellow 12 receives the ball near the corner with his right foot on the floor.  Then he puts his left foot on the floor and starts a dribble. The referee calls a travelling violation.

Article 25.2.1: “To start a dribble, the pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released from the hand(s). 

Outcome: Incorrect decision from the referees. The right foot is the pivot foot and Yellow 12 released the ball to start his dribble before lifting his pivot foot.