20 October, 2020
09 May, 2021
Press Release
to read

Basketball Champions League Play-Offs field complete

MIES (Switzerland) – The Basketball Champions League Play-Offs competitors have been confirmed, following the completion of the 12th and last Regular Season Gameday on Wednesday evening.

Sixteen (16) clubs have qualified for the next phase of the competition, with no less than eleven (11) countries and leagues represented. 

Those teams are (alphabetically): 
AEK (GRE), Brose Bamberg (GER), Casademont Zaragoza (ESP), Dinamo Sassari (ITA), ERA Nymburk (CZE), Hapoel Unet-Credit Holon (ISR), Happy Casa Brindisi (ITA), Hereda San Pablo Burgos (ESP), Iberostar Tenerife (ESP), Igokea (BIH), Nizhny Novgorod (RUS), Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR), SIG Strasbourg (FRA), Tofas Bursa (TUR), Türk Telekom (TUR), VEF Riga (LAT).

From the 32 teams initially involved in the Regular Season, 16 teams (the first two in each group) are qualified for the next stage of the competition, the teams ranked 3rd and 4th in each group are eliminated.

For the purposes of the Play-Offs Draw, the 16 qualified clubs have been ranked according to their final position within their respective group during the Regular Season and their place in the Draw will be based on this ranking. The teams having finished 1st of their Regular Season group will be placed in Pot 1, the teams having finished 2nd of their Regular Season group will be placed in Pot 2. The Play-Offs Draw procedure is described here.

The 16 teams will play six games each in a round robin system (three games home, three away), with the first two teams in each group qualifying for a Final 8 tournament that will conclude the 2020-21 season and take place over the first week of May 2021.

The location of the Final 8 (May 5-9, 2021) will be announced after completion of the Play-Offs, early April. An additional draw will determine the Final 8 bracket and will take place the week following the announcement. 

The Draw determining the Play-Offs groups will take place in the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball at 16:00 CET on Tuesday February 2. The ceremony will be livestreamed on championsleague.basketball. The complete updated game schedule will be communicated after the event.