08 October, 2019
04 October, 2020
to read

Basketball Champions League Play-Offs field complete

MIES (Switzerland) – The Basketball Champions League Play-Offs competitors have been confirmed, following the completion of the 14th and last Regular Season Gameday on Wednesday evening.

Sixteen (16) clubs have qualified for the next phase of the competition, with no less than eleven (11) countries and leagues represented. 

Those teams are (alphabetically): AEK (GRE), Besiktas Sompo Sigorta (TUR), Casademont Zaragoza (ESP), Dinamo Sassari (ITA), ERA Nymburk (CZE), Filou Oostende (BEL), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR), Iberostar Tenerife (ESP), JDA Dijon (FRA), Lietkabelis (LTU), Nizhny Novgorod (RUS), Peristeri winmasters (GRE), San Pablo Burgos (ESP), Teksüt Bandirma (TUR), Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER), Türk Telekom (TUR).

From the 32 teams initially involved in the Regular Season, 16 teams (the first four in each group) are qualified for the next stage of the competition, the teams ranked 5th to 8th in each group are eliminated.

For the purposes of the Play-Offs Draw, the 16 qualified clubs have been ranked according to their final position within their respective group during the Regular Season and their place in the Draw will be based on this ranking. The teams having finished 1st of their Regular Season group will be placed in Pot 1, the teams having finished 2nd of their Regular Season group will be placed in Pot 2, etc. The Play-Offs Draw procedure is described here.

The 16 teams will play best-of-3 series and the 8 winners will advance to the Quarter-Finals.

The Play-Offs will start with the Round of 16 (3-4, 10-11, and possibly 17-18 March) and continue with the Quarter-Finals, also on best-of-3 series (24-25 March, 31 March-1 April, and possibly 7-8 April). 

The location of the Final Four (1-3 May 2020) will be announced after completion of the Quarter-Finals, early April. An additional draw will determine the Semi-Finals and will take place in the Final Four host city the week following the announcement. 

The draw determining the Play-Offs pairings will take place in the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball at 11:00 CET on Tuesday 18 February. The ceremony will be livestreamed on www.championsleague.basketball.