09 October, 2018
05 May, 2019
to read

Basketball Champions League draw explained

MIES (Switzerland) - The Official Draw Ceremony for the 2019-20 Basketball Champions League Qualification Rounds and Regular Season will take place on Thursday 4 July at the House of Basketball in Mies, Switzerland.

Here are the procedures for the Draw:
The 2019-20 Basketball Champions League competition will consist of 32 teams. Twenty-four (24) teams are directly qualified for the Regular Season, with the last eight (8) teams set to qualify through two (2) Qualification Rounds.

During all stages of the draws, the country protection principle will apply, safeguarding that no teams from the same country face each other, either in the Qualification Rounds or in the Regular Season.

The competition starts on 17 September 2019 with the first of the two Qualification Rounds.

Qualification Round 1 (QR1)
Sixteen (16) teams will be split into two pots (seeded and unseeded) according to the club and country rankings and will be drawn into eight (8) pairs.

Unseeded clubs will play the first leg at home and seeded clubs will play the second leg at home. Games will be played on 17 and 20 September. The 8 winners will then qualify for the 2nd Qualification Round (QR2).

Draw procedure:
An unseeded club will be drawn first, and a seeded club will be drawn second, in order to form Game 1. The procedure will be repeated until all eight (8) QR1 pairs are formed.

  • The 8 seeded teams are (alphabetically):
    Bakken Bears (DEN), Balkan Botevgrad (BUL), CSM CSU Oradea (ROU), Donar Groningen (NED), Fribourg Olympic (SUI), Kyiv-Basket (UKR), Legia Warszawa (POL), Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR).
  • The 8 unseeded teams are (alphabetically):
    Falco Szombathely (HUN), Inter Bratislava (SVK), Kapfenberg Bulls (AUT), Karhu Basket Kauhajoki (FIN), Keravnos (CYP), SL Benfica (POR), Södertälje Kings (SWE), Z-Mobile Prishtina (KOS).

Qualification Round 2 (QR2)
The eight (8) winners of QR1 (unseeded) will be drawn against the eight (8) directly qualified clubs (seeded) in Qualification Round 2.

Games will be played on 26 and 29 September. The eight (8) winners of Qualification Round 2 will qualify for the 2019-20 Basketball Champions League and join the 24 directly qualified teams in the main draw.

Draw procedure:
An unseeded pairing will be drawn first, a seeded club will be drawn second. If the seeded club drawn is from the same country as the unseeded one, the seeded club will take the next available spot. The procedure will be repeated until all eight (8) QR2 pairs are formed.

Regular Season
The following twenty-four (24) clubs have qualified directly for the 2019-20 Basketball Champions League Regular Season. They will be joined by the eight (8) winners of QR2.

Draw procedure:
The eight (8) winners of Qualification Round 2 will be drawn first and split in the four groups (maximum of 2 teams in each group) respecting country protection. The 24 directly qualified clubs will be split into seeded and unseeded teams and will be drawn in the four groups respecting country protection.

  • The 12 seeded teams are (alphabetically):
    AEK (GRE), 
    Bandirma BK (TUR), Besiktas Sompo Japan (TUR), Brose Bamberg (GER), CEZ Nymburk (CZE), Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari (ITA), Filou Oostende (BEL), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR), Iberostar Tenerife (ESP), Neptunas Klaipeda (LTU), PAOK (GRE), SIG Strasbourg (FRA).

  • The 12 unseeded teams are (alphabetically):
    Anwil Wloclawek (POL), Basket Zaragoza (ESP), BAXI Manresa (ESP), Elan Béarnais Pau-Lacq-Orthez (FRA), Gaziantep (TUR), Happy Casa Brindisi (ITA), JDA Dijon (FRA), Peristeri Vikos Cola (GRE), RASTA Vechta (GER), Turk Telekom (TUR), UNET Holon (ISR), VEF Riga (LAT).


The draw for the 2019-20 Basketball Champions League Regular Season will be completed once all teams have been drawn. The Regular Season will tip off on 15 October.

The Official Draw Ceremony will be streamed live on www.championsleague.basketball from 11.00 GMT+2.