04 October, 2022
14 May, 2023
Play-in pairings square
Press Release
to read

Play-In pairings set as curtain falls on Regular Season

MIES (Switzerland) - The Play-In matchups that will determine which teams clinch the final eight berths in the Basketball Champions League Round of 16 were confirmed on Wednesday night, upon the completion of Regular Season action.

Each of the 16 teams that finished in either second or third place in their respective Regular Season groups will compete in a best-of-three Play-In series. The second-placed teams have the homecourt advantage in each series:


UCAM Murcia (ESP; 2nd in Group A) vs. Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR; 3rd in Group B)
AEK (GRE; 2nd in Group B) vs. Tofas Bursa (TUR; 3rd in Group A)
Hapoel Atsmon Holon (ISR; 2nd in Group C) vs .Igokea m:tel (BIH; 3rd in Group D)
Bahcesehir College (TUR; 2nd in Group D)  vs. Filou Oostende (BEL; 3rd in Group C)
MHP RIESEN (GER; 2nd in Group E) vs. Limoges CSP (FRA; 3rd in Group F)
S.L. Benfica (POR; 2nd in Group F) vs. Darüssafaka (TUR; 3rd in Group E)
JDA Bourgogne Dijon (FRA; 2nd in Group G) vs. Peristeri (GRE; 3rd in Group H)
Rytas Vilnius (LTU; 2nd in Group H) vs. PAOK mateco (GRE; 3rd in Group G)

Game 1 of each Play-in series will take place on either Tuesday, January 3 or Wednesday, January 4, 2023, with the second games taking place on January 10-11. Any series that is tied at 1-1 after the first two games will conclude with a tiebreaker on January 17-18. The exact dates and times will be confirmed at a later stage.


The first eight tickets to the Round of the 16 have already found their rightful owners, since the teams that won their respective Regular Season group earned a direct spot: SIG Strasbourg (FRA; Group A winner); Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER; Group B winner); Galatasaray Nef (TUR; Group C winner); Surne Bilbao (ESP; Group D winner); Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR; Group E winner); BAXI Manresa (ESP; Group F winner); Unicaja (ESP; Group G winner); Lenovo Tenerife (ESP; Group H winner)

Once these teams are joined by the winners of the Play-In games, the 16 teams will be split into four groups of four teams each. The composition of the four Round of 16 groups is pre-determined by the draw, as follows:


GROUP I: SIG Strasbourg; Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem; Hapoel Atsmon Holon OR Igokea m:tel; JDA Bourgogne Dijon OR Peristeri
GROUP J: Telekom Baskets Bonn; BAXI ManresaBahcesehir College OR Filou OostendeRytas Vilnius OR PAOK mateco
GROUP K: Galatasaray Nef; Unicaja; AEK OR Tofas Bursa; MHP RIESEN OR Limoges CSP
GROUP L: Surne Bilbao; Lenovo Tenerife; UCAM Murcia OR Pinar Karsiyaka; S.L. Benfica OR Darüssafaka

The Round of 16 is set to tip off on January 24 and will be played in a round-robin format in home and aways games (as was the case with the Regular Season format). The exact time and date of each game will be confirmed after the 16-team field is complete.

The two teams that finish in the top two spots in each group will qualify for the Quarter-Finals.


About Basketball Champions League
The Basketball Champions League is an innovative joint partnership between FIBAClubCo and 11 top European leagues. It is a fair competition based on sporting principles with teams qualifying through national leagues.

For further information about the Basketball Champions League, visit championsleague.basketball or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, or LinkedIn.