09 October, 2018
05 May, 2019
Tough Calls
to read

Tough Calls - Week 6

MIES (Switzerland) - Each week, experts are analysing the games. In order to improve the understanding of referees' decisions and to increase the transparency towards our fans, we publish some of those "tough calls", together with an explanation. 

Please find below this week's "tough calls":

Tough Call 1: AEK v Lietkabelis - Marginal foul

Yellow 26 dribbles close to the side line. Red 22 and 66 trap Yellow 26, who tries to pass the ball, but the pass is deflected by Red 22. Red 22 stays inside his cylinder and touches the ball with his left hand. All other contacts are caused by Yellow 26 who is jumping slightly towards the defensive players. The contacts are legal and no foul should be called.

Outcome: Incorrect decision by referees.


Tough Call 2: Brose Bamberg v Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem - Held ball

White 4 drives to the basket. Black 21 jumps to block the shot with his left hand, and legally touches the ball only. Both players return to floor having the hand(s) still on the ball. When both players then return to the playing court with both of them having 1 hand or both hands firmly on the ball, a held ball shall be called.

Outcome: Correct decision by referees.


Tough Call 3: JDA Dijon v Telenet Giants Antwerp - Offensive foul

White team is in transition and in the action, White 21 runs towards Black 5 creating an illegal contact. Before the final contact, White 21 is redirected by initial illegal contact created by Black 23 in the mid court, who is moving to the path of White 21. A blocking foul should be called on Black 23. 

 Outcome: Incorrect decision by referees.

Tough Call 4: Neptunas Klaipeda v Promitheas Patras - Technical foul

In the key area, 2 players are fighting for the position. Defensive player White 9 creates an illegal contact. The foul is correctly called on White 9. After the call, Black 21 runs from outside to challenge White 9 by taunting him with going close to his face and with a provocative contact. A Technical Foul should be called on Black 21. 

Outcome: Incorrect decision by referees (for Unsportsmanlike Foul on Black 21).


Tough Call 5: Umana Reyer Venezia v Nanterre 92 - IRS

White 9 is closely guarded by Green 13. White 9 swings his left elbow and hits the head of Green 13. The lateral movement (swinging) of the elbow is not a normal basketball move and therefore an Unsportsmanlike Foul should be called on White 9. Referees can use the Instant Replay System (IRS) to determine if the personal foul called should be upgraded to the Unsportsmanlike Foul. 

Outcome: Correct decision by referees.