09 October, 2018
05 May, 2019
Press Release
to read

Basketball Champions League Qualification Rounds and Regular Season draw completed

MIES (Switzerland) - The Official Draw Ceremony for the 2019-20 season of the Basketball Champions League took place on Thursday in Mies, Switzerland.

Here are the results of the draw:

Regular Season (alphabetically)

Group A: BAXI Manresa (ESP), Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari (ITA), Filou Oostende (BEL), SIG Strasbourg (FRA), Turk Telekom (TUR), UNET Holon (ISR), Winner of Game 9 (Keravnos/Bakken Bears/Lietkabelis), Winner of Game 11 (Karhu Basket Kauhajoki/Tsmoki-Minsk/Polski Cukier Torun).

Group B: AEK (GRE), Anwil Wloclawek (POL), Bandirma BK (TUR), Elan Béarnais Pau-Lacq-Orthez (FRA), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR), RASTA Vechta (GER), Winner of Game 13 (Södertälje Kings/Balkan Botevgrad/Telenet Giants Antwerp), Winner of Game 14 (Kapfenberg Bulls/Kyiv-Basket/San Pablo Burgos).

Group C: Brose Bamberg (GER), CEZ Nymburk (CZE), Gaziantep (TUR), Iberostar Tenerife (ESP), Peristeri Vikos Cola (GRE), VEF Riga (LAT), Winner of Game 10 (SL Benfica/Donar Groningen/Mornar Bar), Winner of Game 15 (Z-Mobile Prishtina/Legia Warszawa/Nizhny Novgorod).

Group D: Basket Zaragoza (ESP), Besiktas Sompo Japan (TUR), Happy Casa Brindisi (ITA), JDA Dijon (FRA), Neptunas Klaipeda (LTU), PAOK (GRE), Winner of Game 12 (Falco Szombathely/CSM CSU Oradea/Ventspils), Winner of Game 16 (Inter Bratislava/Fribourg Olympic/Telekom Baskets Bonn).

The Regular Season consists of four (4) groups of eight (8) teams each, with games played on a home and away basis and in a round robin format. The four (4) best ranked teams from each group will advance to the Play-Offs. The action will tip off on 15 October.

The Qualification Rounds have also been drawn:

Qualification Round 1

Game 1: Inter Bratislava (SVK) v Fribourg Olympic (SUI)
Game 2: Karhu Basket Kauhajoki (FIN) v Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR)
Game 3: Södertälje Kings (SWE) v Balkan Botevgrad (BUL)
Game 4: Kapfenberg Bulls (AUT) v Kyiv-Basket (UKR)
Game 5: Falco Szombathely (HUN) v CSM CSU Oradea (ROU)
Game 6: Z-Mobile Prishtina (KOS) v Legia Warszawa (POL)
Game 7: SL Benfica (POR) v Donar Groningen (NED)
Game 8: Keravnos (CYP) v Bakken Bears (DEN)

Games will be played home and away on 17 and 20 September. The teams indicated in second position will play the second leg at home.

Qualification Round 2

Game 9: Winner of Game 8 (Keravnos/Bakken Bears) v Lietkabelis (LTU)
Game 10: Winner of Game 7 (SL Benfica/Donar Groningen) v Mornar Bar (MNE)
Game 11: Winner of Game 2 (Karhu Basket Kauhajoki/Tsmoki-Minsk) v Polski Cukier Torun (POL)
Game 12: Winner of Game 5 (Falco Szombathely/CSM CSU Oradea) v Ventspils (LAT)
Game 13: Winner of Game 3 (Södertälje Kings/Balkan Botevgrad) v Telenet Giants Antwerp (BEL)
Game 14: Winner of Game 4 (Kapfenberg Bulls/Kyiv-Basket) v San Pablo Burgos (ESP)
Game 15: Winner of Game 6 (Z-Mobile Prishtina/Legia Warszawa) v Nizhny Novgorod (RUS)
Game 16: Winner of Game 1 (Inter Bratislava/Fribourg Olympic) v Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER)

Games will be played home and away on 26 and 29 September. The teams indicated in second position will play the second leg at home.

All Qualification Rounds games are played in a home and away format with the action getting underway on 17 September 2019. The eight (8) winners of Qualification Round 2 qualify for the Regular Season, joining the 24 directly qualified teams in the main draw. The draw was carried out in such a way as to prevent teams from a same country facing each other in the Qualification Rounds and in the Regular Season.

Complete schedule and tip-off times will be determined at a later stage.

Distinguished guests, including members of the Basketball Champions League's Board of Directors, Committees Members, Shareholders Leagues and representatives from all 48 participating teams, were in attendance for the special occasion.

The 48 participating teams were invited to an introductory workshop before the draw