04 October, 2022
14 May, 2023
Tough Calls
to read

Tough Calls - Round of 16 | Week 3

MIES (Switzerland) - Each week, experts are analyzing the games. In order to improve the understanding of referees' decisions and to increase the transparency towards our fans, we publish some of those "tough calls", together with an explanation.

 Tough Call 1: Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem vs SIG Strasbourg - Unsportsmanlike Foul

White 3 drives to his frontcourt and a contact with Red 2 occurs. The referees call an unsportsmanlike foul to Red 2. After the IRS review, the referees confirm their initial decision.

Article 37.1.1 An unsportsmanlike foul is a player contact which, in the judgement of a referee is:
• An unnecessary contact caused by the defensive player in order to stop the progress of the offensive team in transition. This applies until the offensive player starts his/her act of shooting.

Outcome: Correct decision from the referees. The contact created by Red 2, was without a legal guarding position, and when creating the illegal contact made no legitimate attempt to play the ball and therefore met one of the criteria to be considered as an unsportsmanlike foul. White 3 will attempt 2 free throws with no line-up and the game shall be resumed with a White team throw-in from the throw-in line in their frontcourt and 14 seconds on the shot clock.


Tough Call 2: JDA Bourgogne Dijjon vs Hapoel Atsmon Holon - No Foul          

White 6 drives to the basket guarded by Purple 2. Help defender Purple 24 jumps and blocks the shot. The referees let the play continue.

Article 33.2 The defensive player must not be penalised for leaving the court vertically, within
his/her cylinder, or having his/her hands and arms extended above him/her within his/her own cylinder.

Outcome: Correct decision from the referees. Purple 24 did not create any illegal contact with his body, and he blocked the ball legally with his hand without creating any contact with White 6.



Tough Call 3: Rytas Vilnius vs Telekom Baskets Bonn - Goaltending

Pink 0 drives to the basket and makes a lay-up. White 14 blocks the shot and the referees call a goaltending violation.

Article 31.2.1 Goaltending occurs during a shot for a goal when a player touches the ball while it is completely above the level of the ring and:
• It is on its downward flight to the basket, or
• After it has touched the backboard     

Outcome: Correct decision from the referees. The ball touched the backboard before being blocked by White 14 while it was completely above the level of the ring. Pink 0 will be awarded 2 points.