01 September, 2016
30 April, 2017
Basketball Champions League welcomes Iberostar Tenerife
Press Release
to read

Iberostar Tenerife receives winner's prize money

MIES, Switzerland (Basketball Champions League) - On Wednesday, Iberostar Tenerife was invited at the House of Basketball in Mies, Switzerland, to officially collect the cheque reserved for the winner of the Basketball Champions League.

On Sunday 30 April, Iberostar Tenerife became the first ever winners of the Basketball Champions League after a 63-59 win over Banvit in the Final game of the Final Four. The Spanish side, host of the Final Four of the Basketball Champions League inaugural season, won 67-58 over Umana Reyer Venezia in Semi-Finals two days earlier.

Represented by Aniano Cabrera Rodríguez, General Manager of Iberostar Tenerife, the club received its €500,000 winning cheque from Stefan Holz, Member of the Basketball Champions League Board and Managing Director of the German National League.

This first season of the Basketball Champions League saw 52 clubs competing in the competition (40 in the Regular Season), representing 31 participating countries and 18 national champions.

The overall financial contribution allocated to the participating clubs reached the amount of €5.2 million, including €500,000 for the end-winner of the competition. A recent decision has been taken to double this amount in view of next season, offering €1 million to next year’s champion.

"It is for us a pleasure to receive Iberostar Tenerife here at the House of Basketball", said Stefan Holz. "It is the opportunity for us to congratulate them for the fantastic season they have had, and especially for their memorable victory in this first edition of the Basketball Champions League", he said.

“We, at the Basketball Champions League, are extremely happy to welcome Iberostar Tenerife as first winner of the competition, and to hand over their well-deserved winning cheque”, said Patrick Comninos, CEO of the Basketball Champions League. "This competition is about serving the clubs and promoting sporting results, rewarding clubs based on their progress in the competition and enabling them to develop and become stronger”, he said.