09 October, 2018
05 May, 2019
to read

Basketball Champions League Play-Offs field complete

MIES (Switzerland) – The Basketball Champions League Play-Offs competitors have been confirmed, following the completion of the 14th and last Regular Season Gameday on Wednesday evening.

Sixteen (16) clubs have qualified for the next phase of the competition, with no less than ten (10) countries and leagues represented. 

Those teams are (alphabetically): AEK (GRE), Banvit (TUR), Besiktas Sompo Japan (TUR), Brose Bamberg (GER), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR), Iberostar Tenerife (ESP), Le Mans (FRA), Nanterre 92 (FRA), Neptunas Klaipeda (LTU), Nizhny Novgorod (RUS), PAOK (GRE), Promitheas Patras (GRE), Segafredo Virtus Bologna (ITA), Telenet Giants Antwerp (BEL), UCAM Murcia (ESP), and Umana Reyer Venezia (ITA).

From the 32 teams initially involved in the Regular Season, 16 teams (the first four in each group) are qualified for the next stage of the competition, the teams ranked 5th and 6th in each group have the right to play in FIBA Europe Cup, and the last 8 clubs (ranked 7th and 8th in each group) are eliminated.

For the purposes of the Play-Offs Draw, the 16 qualified clubs have been ranked according to their final position within their respective group during the Regular Season and their place in the Draw will be based on this ranking. The teams having finished 1st of their Regular Season group will be placed in Pot 1, the teams having finished 2nd of their Regular Season group will be placed in Pot 2, etc. The Play-Offs Draw procedure is described here.

The Play-Offs will start with the Round of 16 (5-6 and 12-13 March) and continue with the Quarter-Finals (26-27 March and 2-3 April). 

The location of the Final Four will be announced after completion of the Quarter-Finals, at the end of the first week of April. An additional draw will determine the Semi-Finals and will take place in the Final Four host city the following week. 

The draw determining the Play-Offs pairings will take place in FIBA's House of Basketball at 12:00 CET on Friday 8 February. The ceremony will be livestreamed on www.championsleague.basketball.