08 October, 2019
04 October, 2020
Txus Vidorreta (TENRF), 4 Santi Yusta (TENRF), 10 Sasu Salin (TENRF), 55 Darion Atkins (TENRF), 11 Dani Diez (TENRF), 25 Alex Lopez (TENRF)
to read

Five things we learned this week - Gameday 4

MIES (Switzerland) - Did you know who is the winningest coach in Basketball Champions League history, which Italian offense is the best and which players have contributed the most in the least amount of time?

Find out all that and more as we have an alternative look at some facts and stats from this week's action!

1. BCL Stands For Basketball Coaching Legend?

Txus Vidorreta became the coach with the most victories in the history of the competition, following Iberostar Tenerife's 78-68 success at ERA Nymburk, the 15th consecutive road victroy for the Spanish team, that left them as the sole leaders of Group C.

The 53-year-old Bilbao-born tactician now has 34 BCL wins, ahead of Zvezdan Mitrovic who has 33 and Walter De Raffaele who has 32.

In terms of winning percentage, Mitrovic leads with 82.5 percent (33 wins in 40 games), Vidorreta is a close second at 77.3 percent (34 in 44) and Ufuk Sarica has 22 wins in 32 games (68.8 percent).

Vidorreta's players honored the occasion in a very fitting way, as they came up with 20 steals on Tuesday and tied a record held by the Mitrovic-led Monaco in a clash against Juventus Utena in October 2017.

2. Offensive Records

The 32-point winning margin in Falco Szombathely’s 91-59 win over Telekom Baskets Bonn marks the widest victory by a Hungarian team in the history of the BCL.

No Italian team in the competition has ever scored more than Dinamo Sassari’s 113 points against Polski Cukier Torun.

Anwil Wloclawek's 33 points in the first quarter of the game against Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem are the most points scored by the Polish team in a single quarter.

Hapoel Jerusalem's 112 points against Anwil set a new BCL scoring record for the Israeli team.

3. Offensive Short-Circuits

Teksut Bandirma's 50 points against AEK are a new BCL low at home for the Turkish team, as they had never scored fewer than 60 points at the Kara Ali Acar Sport Hall. Indeed AEK’s 18-point victory is the heaviest loss for Bandirma in a home BCL game.

Telekom Baskets Bonn had the second-worst offensive display of Gameday 4, after Bandirma, in their 91-59 loss t Falco. Bonn now hold the dubious honor of having suffered the two heaviest defeats for a German club in the history of the competition, with their widest loss remaining the 103-56 loss to Nanterre in January 2019.

4. Time Sensitive Records

Nicolas De Jong's 35 points against San Pablo Burgos set a new BCL record for most points scored in less than 30 minutes of play. The Pau-Lacq-Orthez spent 27 minutes and 9 seconds on the floor.

Marco Spissu became the first player in BCL history to register at least 20 points, 7 rebounds and 7 assists in less than 28 minutes. The Dinamo Sassari point guard had 22 points, 7 rebounds and 8 assists in 26 minutes and 52 seconds of action.

Scoochie Smith of Peristeri winmasters became the first player this season to score at least 20 points and grab at least 5 rebounds in less than 20 minutes. The guard finished with 21 points and 5 boards in 19 minutes and 32 seconds in the game against Nizhny.

5. Need To Do Better

ERA Nymburk's 27 turnovers in the home loss to Tenerife are the most by any team in the past three years. Ironi Nahariya committed 32 turnovers in their loss to Aris Thessaloniki in November 2016, which remains the most in a BCL game.

VEF Riga brought down only 22 rebounds against Gaziantep, the lowest tally by any team so far this season. Interestingly, this was way below the Latvian team's normal output on the glass, as they averaged 36.7 boards prior to this game.

Polski Cukier Torun have become only the second team to concede more than 100 points in consecutive home games. The Polish team gave up 113 points to Sassari this week, after giving up 122 points against UNET Holon last week. Umana Reyer Venezia gave up more than 100 points in two home games in a row in October 2017, against Bandirma and AEK.