05 October, 2021
15 May, 2022
10 Jacques Alingue (JDA)
to read

Round of 16 picture: Group I completed, one spot still open

MIES (Switzerland) - The Play-In series have started with the new year. With each passing week, we are getting closer to all the answers before the Round of 16 group stage. Only one ticket is still up for grabs after the games on January 21.

Reminder, second-placed teams are considered seeded teams, meaning they have home-court advantage in the Play-In Series.

Play-In status as of January 21

A2 Lenovo Tenerife v B3 Pinar Karsiyaka 2-1
B2 Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem v A3 Prometey 1-0

C2 JDA Dijon v D3 VEF Riga 2-0
D2 Nutribullet Treviso v C3 Lavrio Megabolt 2-0

E2 Igokea m:tel v F3 Filou Oostende 1-2
F2 SIG Strasbourg v E3 PAOK mateco 2-0

G2 Hapoel U-NET Holon v H3 Besiktas Icrypex 2-1
H2 Hereda San Pablo Burgos v G3 Darussafaka 1-2

Round of 16 groups as of January 21

Thanks to their Play-In series sweep over PAOK mateco, SIG Strasbourg were the first team to join the Round of 16, entering the group with Falco Szombathely and Rytas Vilnius.

Nutribullet Treviso eased away for two wins over Lavrio Megabolt, allowing them to move on to the Round of 16 in their first European season since forming the club back in 2012.

Hapoel U-NET Holon played three close games against Besiktas Icrypex in the Play-In series, and now they have to travel back to Istanbul for the Round of 16, because they are in the same group as Galatasaray Nef.

We know for sure that we will have a new champion, because Darussafaka eliminated the 2020 and 2021 champions Hereda San Pablo Burgos. Last season's runners-up Pinar Karsiyaka are also out, losing closely contested Play-In series to Lenovo Tenerife.

Darussafaka weren't the only team winning Game 3 on the road. Filou Oostende came out victorious in Laktasi, BIH keeping Igokea out of the competition.

On Friday, JDA Dijon completed the sweep against VEF Riga, claiming their pot in Group I.

Group I

MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg*
Galatasaray Nef*
Hapoel U-NET Holon*
JDA Dijon*

Group J

BAXI Manresa*
Tofas Bursa*
Nutribullet Treviso*

Group K

U-BT Cluj Napoca*
Filou Oostende*
Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (1-0 v Prometey)

Group L

Falco Szombathely*
Rytas Vilnius*
SIG Strasbourg*
Lenovo Tenerife*


The Round of 16 phase will be played in round robin, home and away, system from end of January to March. The first two teams in each group will qualify for the Quarter-Finals.

The Quarter-Finals will be played as best-of-3 series over the month of April, with the home advantage to the first-placed teams. The four winners will qualify for the Final Four.

A Final Four tournament will conclude the season. The four qualified teams will play over a weekend in early May, with the Semi-Finals on Friday and the Finals on Sunday.