17 October, 2023
05 May, 2024


Innovative joint partnership

An independent and separate legal entity based in Switzerland has been established in March 2016. An innovative 50-50 joint partnership between FIBA and 11 top European leagues:

Basketball’s new horizon in Europe

  • Fair competition based on sporting principles: teams qualifying through national leagues
  • A truly European club competition with 30 countries
  • Innovative partnership

The Basketball Champions League

  • Nurturing new European talents
  • Protecting the domestic leagues
  • Promoting sporting results and openness of competitions
  • Providing a sound business model for all stakeholders, not only elite clubs
  • Bringing coherence, transparency and unity to European club competitions
  • Protecting the integrity of the game: all clubs shall be treated equally
  • Advancing common interests through a partnership 50% Leagues - 50% FIBA

See the Competition Format

Board of Directors
  • Markus Studer, Chairman
  • Alain Béral (FRA)
  • Maurizio Bertea (ITA)
  • Arthur Goethals (BEL)
  • Stefan Holz (GER)
  • Antonio Martin (ESP)
  • Kamil Novak (FIBA Europe)
  • Kevin Tsujihara (FIBA Club Co)

Brian Bailey (FIBA Club Co)
Chus Bueno (NBA)
Tomas Van Den Spiegel (ULEB)

Chief Executive Officer
  • Patrick Comninos

Two committees composed of representatives of Leagues and FIBA:
Competitions Committee
  • Serhan Antalyali (TUR), Chairman
  • Kamil Novak (FIBA), Delegate of the Board
  • Michalis Melis (GRE)
  • Djilali Meziane (FRA)
  • Francisco Ricco (ITA)
  • Joan Rocca (ESP)
  • Jens Staudenmayer (GER)
  • Wim van de Keere (BEL)
  • Tomas van der Spiegel (ULEB)

Finance Committee
  • Stefan Holz, Chairman and delegate of the Board
  • Ingo Weiss (FIBA)
  • Patrick Mariller (FIBA)
  • Grzegorz Bachanski (FIBA Europe)
  • Radek Piesiewicz (Business Advisor)

BCL Club Council (season 2023-24)

Maurizio Bertea (BCL), Delegate of the Board
AEK (Greece), member
Bonn (Germany), member
Dijon (France), member
Dinamo Sassari (Italy), member
Hapoel Jerusalem (Israel), member
Igokea (Bosnia and Herzegovina), member
Oostende (Belgium), member
Pinar Karsiyaka (Turkey), member
Rytas Vilnius (Lithuania), member
Tenerife (Spain), member 
Unicaja (Spain), member

Single Judge
  • Olivier Ducrey