17 October, 2023
05 May, 2024
Antalya selected as host City for Basketball Champions League Qualification Rounds
Press Release
to read

Play-In matchups set, first Round of 16 tickets punched as curtain falls on Regular Season


MIES (Switzerland) - The eight teams that sealed a direct passage to the Round of 16, as well as the eight Play-In series which will reward their respective winners with the final tickets to that stage were confirmed on Wednesday night, upon the completion of Regular Season action in the 2023-24 Basketball Champions League.

The 16 teams that finished in either second or third place in their respective Regular Season groups will match up in best-of-three series in the Play-Ins. The second-placed teams (mentioned first in each pairing) have the homecourt advantage in the series:


Le Mans Sarthe Basket (FRA; 2nd in Group A) vs. Promitheas Patras (GRE; 3rd in Group B)
Rytas Vilnius (LTU; 2nd in Group B) vs. Peristeri bwin (GRE; 3rd in Group A)
Cholet Basket (FRA; 2nd in Group C) vs Banco di Sardegna Sassari (ITA; 3rd in Group D)
MHP RIESEN Ludwigsburg (GER; 2nd in Group D) vs. Darüssafaka Lassa (TUR; 3rd in Group C)
Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR; 2nd in Group E) vs. Rio Breogan (ESP; 3rd in Group F)
Hapoel Holon (ISR; 2nd in Group F) vs. Filou Oostende (BEL; 3rd in Group E)
PAOK mateco (GRE; 2nd in Group G) vs. Tofas Bursa (TUR; 3rd in Group H)
Bertram Derthona Tortona (ITA; 2nd in Group H) vs. Galatasaray EKMAS (TUR; 3rd in Group G)

The first game of each Play-in series will take place on either Tuesday, January 2 or Wednesday, January 3, 2024, with Game 2 taking place on either January 9 or January 10.

Any series that is tied at 1-1 after the first two games will conclude with a tiebreaker on January 16-17. The exact dates and times will be confirmed at a later stage.

The eight teams that won their respective Regular Season groups and therefore earned a direct spot in the Regular Season are:
Unicaja (ESP; Group A winner); JDA Bourgogne Dijon (FRA; Group B winner); Lenovo Tenerife (ESP; Group C winner); AEK BETSSON BC (GRE; Group D winner); SIG Strasbourg (FRA; Group E winner); Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER; Group F winner); Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR; Group G winner); UCAM Murcia (ESP; Group H winner)

Once these teams are joined by the winners of the Play-In series, the 16 teams will be split into four groups of four teams each. The composition of the four Round of 16 groups is pre-determined by the draw, as follows:


GROUP I: Unicaja; SIG Strasbourg; Cholet Basket OR Banco di Sardegna Sassari; PAOK mateco OR Tofas Bursa
GROUP J: JDA Bourgogne Dijon; Telekom Baskets Bonn; MHP RIESEN Ludwigsburg OR Darüssafaka Lassa; Bertram Derthona Tortona OR Galatasaray EKMAS
GROUP K: Lenovo Tenerife; Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem; Rytas Vilnius OR Peristeri bwin; Pinar Karsiyaka OR Rio Breogan
GROUP L: AEK BETSSON BC; UCAM Murcia; Le Mans Sarthe Basket OR Promitheas Patras; Hapoel Holon OR Filou Oostende

The Round of 16 stage is set to tip off on January 23 and will be played in a round-robin format in home and away games (similar to the Regular Season format). The exact time and date of each game will be confirmed after the 16-team field is complete.

The two teams that finish in the top two spots in each Round of 16 group will qualify for the Quarter-Finals. 


About Basketball Champions League
The Basketball Champions League is an innovative joint partnership between FIBAClubCo and 11 top European leagues. It is a fair competition based on sporting principles with teams qualifying through national leagues.

For further information about the Basketball Champions League, visit championsleague.basketball or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, or LinkedIn.