19 September, 2017
06 May, 2018
Champions lineup in battle for European glory
Press Release
to read

Champions line up in battle for European glory

MIES, Switzerland (Basketball Champions League) – Twenty one current national champions are among the 56 teams which will take part in the 2017-18 Basketball Champions League which gets under way on September 19 with the first of three qualifying rounds ahead of Regular Season tip off on October 10.

The final lineup was validated and confirmed by the Board of Basketball Champions League meeting at the House of Basketball today.

Eight national finalists and six semi-finalists will also take part of the second season of the Basketball Champions League which will feature clubs coming from 32 different European countries.

This year 32 teams will contest the Regular Season with eight qualifiers joining 24 directly qualified clubs. They will play in four groups of 8 teams each with the top four in each group going through to a home and away Round of 16 ahead of the Quarter-Finals which will determine the Final Four.

Clubs from across the continent will challenge defending champions Iberostar Tenerife for the title won in April. The full line-up is as follows:

Regular Season (alphabetically)
AEK (GRE), Aris (GRE), AS Monaco Basket (FRA), Banvit (TUR), Besiktas Sompo Japan (TUR), ČEZ Basketball Nymburk (CZE), Dinamo Sassari (ITA), Elan Chalon (FRA), Enisey Krasnoyarsk (RUS), EWE Baskets Oldenburg (GER), Gaziantep (TUR), Hapoel Holon (ISR), Iberostar Tenerife (ESP), medi Bayreuth (GER), Neptunas Klaipeda (LTU), Olimpija Ljubljana (SLO), BC Oostende (BEL), PAOK (GRE), Sidigas Avellino (ITA), SIG Strasbourg (FRA), Stelmet Zielona Gora (POL), Umana Reyer Venezia (ITA), Ventspils (LAT), UCAM Murcia (ESP)

Qualification Rounds (alphabetically)
Directly qualified for 3rd round (the 8 winners will qualify for the Regular Season):
Basic-Fit Brussels (BEL), Juventus Utena (LTU), Movistar Estudiantes (ESP), Nanterre 92 (FRA), Orlandina Basket (ITA), Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR), Rosa Radom (POL), Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER)

Directly qualified for 2nd round (the 8 winners will qualify for the 3rd round):
Alba Fehervar (HUN)