08 October, 2019
03 May, 2020
10/01/2020
Tough Calls
to read

Tough Calls - Gameday 10

MIES (Switzerland) - Each week, experts are analysing the games. In order to improve the understanding of referees' decisions and to increase the transparency towards our fans, we publish some of those "tough calls", together with an explanation.

Please find below this week's "tough calls":

Tough Call 1: Filou Oostende v Dinamo Sassari - Act of Shooting

Green 31 attempts a 3 point jump shot. While airborne, defender Yellow 11 jumps forward and creates a contact on the shooter’s leg by invading his cylinder. The referee decides that the shooter faked being fouled and calls a technical foul to him.

The Article 33.2 states that as soon as a player leaves his vertical position (cylinder) and a body contact occurs with an opponent who had already established his own vertical position (cylinder), the player who left his vertical position (cylinder) is responsible for the contact.

Outcome: Incorrect decision from the referees. A personal foul on the act of shooting should have been called and Green 31 should have been awarded 3 free throws.

 

Tough Call 2: Neptunas Klaipeda v PAOK - Verticality

White 22 receives the ball near the basket and jumps for a field goal attempt. Black 24 jumps and blocks the shot.  The referees decide that there is no illegal contact and let the play continue.

The Article 33.2 states that the defensive player must not be penalized for leaving the floor vertically (within his cylinder) or having his hands and arms extended above him within his own cylinder.

Therefore, the defensive movement upwards within his cylinder by Black 24 is legal as long as he doesn’t create any contact against the opponent with his arms/hands outside his cylinder in his attempt to block the shot.

Outcome: Correct decision from the referees. Black 24 didn’t create any illegal contact in blocking the shot.

  

Tough Call 3: Filou Oostende v Dinamo Sassari - Free Throw

Yellow 22 attempts his last free throw. The ball bounces on the rim and is tapped away by Green 9. The referee calls a basketball interference during the last free throw.

The Article 31.2.4 states that an interference occurs when a defensive player touches the ball or the basket while the ball is within the basket, thus preventing the ball from passing through the basket.

And the Article 16.1.2 states that the ball is considered to be within the basket when the slightest part of the ball is within the basket and below the level of the ring.

Outcome: Incorrect decision from the referees. The free throw ended when the ball touched the ring. The ball was completely above the level of the ring (not even the slightest part of the ball was within the basket and below the level of the ring), so no goal tending or basketball interference occurred.

 

Tough Call 4: Peristeri winmasters v Iberostar Tenerife - Shot Clock

Yellow team is in control of the ball in their frontcourt. Defender Black 1 taps the ball and at the same time pushes Yellow 18 before starting a dribble. The referee calls a personal foul to Black 1 when the shot clock shows 13 seconds and the shot clock is reset to 24 seconds.

After the IRS review, the referees award a throw-in to the Yellow team from their backcourt with 24 seconds on the shot clock.

The Article 14.1.3 states that the team control ends when an opponent gains control of the ball.

And the Article 14.1.1 states that the team control starts when a player of that team is in control of a live ball by holding or dribbling it or has a live ball at his disposal.

Therefore, Yellow team were still in control of the ball when the foul was called.

The Article 29.2.1 states that the shot clock shall be reset whenever the game is stopped by an official for a foul by the team not in control the ball. In this situation, the possession of the ball shall be awarded to the same team that previously had the control of the ball. If the throw-in is administered in that team’s:

  • Backcourt, the shot shall be reset to 24 seconds.
  • Frontcourt, the shot clock shall be reset as follows:
    • If 13 seconds or less are displayed on the shot clock at the time when the game was stopped, the shot clock shall be reset to 14 seconds.
    • If 14 seconds or more are displayed on the shot clock at the time when the game was stopped, the shot clock shall not be reset, but shall continue from the time it was stopped.

Outcome: Incorrect decision from the referees. A throw in should have been awarded to Yellow team from the place nearest to the infraction in their frontcourt and with 14 seconds in the shot clock as the shot clock showed less than 14 seconds when the personal foul was called. 

 

Tough Call 5: Peristeri winmasters v Iberostar Tenerife - Block

Black 19 receives the ball inside the paint and there is a contact between him and the defender, Yellow 25. The Lead referee decides the contact is a blocking foul (Yellow 25) and Center referee decides it’s a charge (Black 19). After meeting to discuss what each of them saw from their position on the court, the final decision is a blocking foul to Yellow 25.

The Article 33.4 states that, when guarding a player who control the ball, the elements of time and distance do not apply.

When judging a charge/block situation involving a player with the ball, an official shall use the following principles:

  • The defensive player must establish an initial legal guarding position by facing the opponent with the ball and having both feet on the floor.
  • The defensive player may remain stationary, jump vertically, move laterally or backwards in order to maintain the initial legal guarding position.
  • When moving to maintain the initial legal guarding position, one foot or both feet may be off the floor for an instant, as long as the movement is lateral or backwards, but not towards the player with the ball.
  • Contact must occur on the torso, in which case the defensive player would be considered as having been at the place of contact first.

Outcome: Correct decision from the referees. Defender Yellow 25 fulfilled the first 3 conditions but not the last one, as the point of contact was his shoulder, not his torso. Blocking foul.